top of page

Professor Clive Brown

Professor Clive Brown

Clive Brown was a lecturer at Oxford University from 1980 to 1991, then Professor of Applied Musicology (now Emeritus Professor) at the University of Leeds. Monographs include Louis Spohr: A Critical Biography, Classical and Romantic Performing Practice, and A Portrait of Mendelssohn. He has also published many articles on historical performing practice and, as a violinist, pursues practice-led research. In Oxford and Leeds he edited and conducted staged productions of rare operas by J. F. Lampe, J. C. Bach, Haydn, Salieri, Eberl, Spohr, Schubert, and Mendelssohn.  His critical, performing-practice editions of music include Brahms’ Violin Concerto and his complete Sonatas for one Instrument and Piano, together with a text volume: Performing Practices in Johannes Brahms’ Chamber Music (Bärenreiter); Beethoven’s 1st, 2nd, and 5th symphonies, Choral Fantasia, and Violin Concerto, as well as a performing edition of the Fassung letzter Hand of Mendelssohn’s Die Hochzeit des Camacho (Breitkopf und Härtel); Franz Clement’s 1805 D major Violin Concerto (AR-Editions); and Elgar Music for Violin (Vol. 37 of the Complete Edition). He has just made a new critical/historically-informed performing edition of the solo part of Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto for Bärenreiter, and is working on an edition of Beethoven’s Violin Sonatas, together with a text volume on performing practices in Viennese Classical Chamber music.  

Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien


bottom of page