top of page

Recitals, Redefined: Migration to the Online Platform in the Pandemic Era

23rd August 2021


Curated by

Hayne Kim

Apichai Chantanakajornfung

Pattarapol Sukvajeeporn

Yotsakorn Ruengchaicharoen

Online performances have become a new standard, with unpredictable circumstances necessitating a redefinition of the concept of the recital. A situation that once may have felt like an anomaly has quickly become a new reality, as performances have migrated from traditional communal public spaces to online spaces with unseen audiences.


The students of PGVIM have colourfully responded to this migration of platforms, channelling their creative energies into formats suitable for the times.


This year’s showcase features a wide array of musical fare, ranging from imaginative arrangements to brand new compositions, spirited interpretations of familiar repertoire to bold representations of lesser-known works. The selected potpourri of works provides a sampling of new offerings to a changing concept of the recital performance.


Patidta Atiwattananggoon: Concrete Jungle (2021)

Patidta Atiwattananggoon, guitar

Prannathorn Terrarojanakul, oboe

Krittaya Lorpiyanon, violin

Kansiree Chirawattanaphan, piano

Thawatchai Janfai, flute

Dunyawat Thanakornchai, saxophone

Piphat Choybamphen, double bass


Lowell Liebermann: Sonata for Flute and Piano, Op. 23 - II. Presto

Chatkul Wisutthisara, flute

Morakot Cherd-choongarm, piano


Iannis Xenakis: Rebonds B

Anupon Cheychum, percussion

Pongtorn Techaboonakho: The Solo I for Tuba (2020)

Sakda Pharchumchana, tuba


Paul Hindemith: Sonata for Flute and Piano - III. Sehr lebhaft

Siraphob Maitreesirimongkol, flute

Morakot Cherd-choongarm, piano


Khongchai Greesuradej: Journeys (2021) - V. Irish 


Mitch Leigh arr. Suthipa Temrat: Man of La Mancha - I. Don Quixote 

Suthipa Temrat, trombone


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Sonata No. 8 in A minor, K. 301 - II. Andante cantabile con espressione

Krongkwan Tassanapak, piano 


Georges Hüe: Soir Païen (from Chansons lointaines)

Panupop Jakklom, tenor

Chatkul Wisutthisara, flute

Morakot Cherd-choongarm, piano


Johann Sebastian Bach arr. Pulish Likhitwatanasad: 

Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008 I. Prelude, VI. Gigue

Pulish Likhitwatanasad, cello

Andrew Healey, cello

Chatkul Wisutthisara, flute

Patidta Atiwattananggoon, guitar


Adolf Busch: Aus den Himmelsaugen droben (from Drei Lieder, Op. 3a)

Pishayatan Sungvornvetchapharn, soprano

Kawalee Phakarat, viola

Morakot Cherd-choongarm, piano


Phumthana Mu: Wild Pleasures (2021) 

V. Violin and Bird Duet,

VIII. "I love man not less, But Nature the more"


Benjamin Britten: 6 Metamorphoses I. Pan (with original accompaniment by Prannathorn Teerarodjanakul)

Prannathorn Teerarodjanakul, oboe

Edvard Grieg: Violin Sonata No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45 - III. Allegro animato

Jirapahn Khaokum, violin

Napasorn Lawasinarporn, piano


Vorakit Kamolraksa: Undone (2021)

Vorakit Kamolraksa, voice

Morakot Cherd-choongarm, piano 


Claude Debussy: Estampes - I. Pagodes 

Kansiree Chirawattanaphan, piano

bottom of page