top of page

Historical Performance Practice “Always Anew”

26 Aug 2022
15.30 - 16.30 hrs (GMT+7)

Clive Brown & Stefan Gottfried


Clive Brown, with his groundbreaking research on sources that document 19th-century performance styles and practices and with his new editions of works by Beethoven, Mendelssohn, and Brahms, raises questions about long-standing conventions in (historical) performance practice. The conductor, pianist, and harpsichordist Stefan Gottfried, who succeeded Nikolaus Harnoncourt as artistic leader of Concentus Musicus Vienna, is engaged in a continual search for new insights and sources of inspiration. In explorative workshop sessions questions of agogics, rubato, portamento, articulation, vibrato, etc. will be dealt with both in theory and in practice.


Repertoire focus:

Piano sonatas, sonatas with piano, piano trios and string quartet from Joseph Haydn to Johannes Brahms (epoch: ca. 1780 to 1900).

bottom of page